Top Menu

Publicity Project

Smoke-free Catering Force Programme


The catering industry in Hong Kong has over 240,000 labour force. According to the Survey conducted by the Occupational Safety and Health Council on the occupational safety and health conditions in Chinese restaurants, nearly half (48.5%) of kitchen staff and 28.1% of floor staff smoked regularly. To protect the health of catering employees and the public, Hong Kong Council on Smoking and Health (COSH), with full support of various industry associations and smoking cessation service partners, launched the “Smoke-free Catering Force” programme in October 2017 to encourage smokers in the industry to kick the habit and boost the participation of the industry in promoting smoke-free messages to their employees, customers, the general public and other stakeholders.

"Premier Smoke-free Restaurant"
To encourage the catering industry to spread smoke-free messages and encourage smoking cessation among the employees, COSH introduced a certificate of “Premier Smoke-free Restaurant” to recognize the restaurants that demonstrate commitment to promoting smoke-free culture. Health talks, smoking cessation service referrals and marketing collaterals were provided to assist restaurants and companies of the industry in implementing the smoke-free measures. Around 100 restaurants and catering companies joined as “Premier Smoke-free Restaurant”, including catering groups, fast food restaurants, Cha Chaan Teng, healthy food chain, karaoke, dessert shops, snack shops and pubs, benefiting over 12,700 employees.

A wide variety of smoke-free measures were adopted by the “Premier Smoke-free Restaurants”. Six of them were recognized as “Top Premier Smoke-free Restaurants” with outstanding measures which effectively united the employees, industry and the general public to create a supportive atmosphere for smoke-free catering culture, eg smoke-free charter for staff who are committed to quitting smoking, smoking cessation reward scheme, smoking cessation service referral, free fruits on “healthy smoke-free day”, sharing of quit tips by successful quitters and smoke-free promotion through social media. Also, a café was recognized as “Top Premier Smoke-free Outdoor Restaurant” for its voluntary smoking ban at outdoor seating areas to protect the customers and staff from the hazards of secondhand and third-hand smoke.

Click here for the list of awardees
Click here for the video on the outstanding smoke-free measures

"Smoke-free Cooking Contest"
Collaborating with Hong Kong Commercial Broadcasting Co.,Ltd., the “Smoke-free Cooking Contest” was organized to invite the mass public to share menus with the cost of a pack of cigarettes (around HK$60) which could spread smoke-free messages and support smokers to kick the habit from 23 October to 3 December 2017. Artist Kitty YUEN and Smoke-free Catering Ambassador Christian YANG promoted the contest via cooking demonstration videos to encourage citizens to relieve stress and help smokers kick the habit through cooking, click below links for the videos:
Cooking demonstration by Kitty YUEN (Chinese version only)
Cooking demonstration by Christian YANG (Chinese version only)

Over 60 creative and healthy menus were received and more than 1,400 citizens voted for their favourite menus through social media. COSH selected the winners of the cooking contest based on the delivery of smoke-free or smoking cessation messages, healthy ingredients, creativity and presentation and made a lucky draw for the public voting. Winners of the cooking contest as below:

     
Champion: Smoke-free Lucky bag ("無油無煙" 蔬果福袋)
Winner: Ashley Chan

About the dish and smoke-free messages:
This is a vegetarian dish with a variety of fruits and vegetables which are low calorie and rich in vitamin especially vitamin C, helping smokers defeat the urge to smoke.
1st Runner-up: Smoke-free Healthy set (無煙養生家庭餐)
Winner: Rainbow Wong

About the dish and smoke-free messages:
This dish is designed for successful quitters to live a healthy lifestyle. It is made with yam, cordyceps, yellow pepper, carrot, cucumber which are rich in vitamins and fiber.
2nd Runner-up: Smoke-free Happy dish(無煙笑哈哈)
Winner: Irene Hui

About the dish and smoke-free messages:
This dish is made with figs, bacon and shrimps to promote a smoke-free, healthy and happy lifestyle.


Winners of the lucky draw for public voting:
Tango CHAN, Sandy CHIU, Nicole CHOI
* Trade Promotion License Number: 49515

Artist Kitty YUEN and the Champion of the cooking contest demonstrated the winning dish and invited the mass public to taste to promote the importance of living a smoke-free lifestyle.
Click here to view the cooking demonstration video (Chinese version only)

Awards Presentation Ceremony
An awards presentation ceremony was held on 2 February 2018 to recognize the “Top Premier Smoke-free Restaurants” with outstanding smoke-free policies and winners of the cooking contest. The ceremony was officiated by Dr Jeff LEE (Head of Tobacco Control Office, Department of Health), Antonio KWONG (COSH Chairman) and Yolanda NG (COSH Vice-chairman).





Prof LAM Tai-hing (Chair Professor of Community Medicine cum Sir Robert Kotewall Professor in Public Health, School of Public Health, The University of Hong Kong) shared the benefits and tips on kicking the smoking habit. Singers Phil LAM, Joey WONG and Mischa IP encouraged the general public to motivate their family and friends to quit smoking through games while Smoke-free Ambassadors Christian YANG and LO Pui-wah promoted the smoking hazards to urge the chefs to get rid of cigarettes and adopt a smoke-free lifestyle.



For details of the Smoke-free Catering Force Programme, please visit www.smokefree.hk/catering.
Back to Top

「無煙飲食力量」


香港現時有超過24萬名飲食業從業員,根據職業安全健康局的職業安全健康狀況調查,有約半數(48.5%) 的中式酒樓廚房員工及近三成(28.1%)的樓面員工有吸煙習慣。為了保障飲食業員工及公眾健康,香港吸煙與健康委員會於2017年10月推出「無煙飲食力量」計劃,並獲得多個業界組織全力支持,以及由戒煙服務機構提供協助,希望加強飲食業界宣揚無煙文化的角色,藉此將無煙信息傳遞予員工、客戶、巿民大眾等不同持份者,推動更多吸煙人士戒煙,以保障他們的健康及職業安全。

「星級無煙食肆」
為鼓勵飲食業推廣無煙信息及鼓勵員工戒煙,委員會設立「星級無煙食肆」認證,以表揚致力支持及宣揚無煙文化的食肆,並為參加之食肆提供講座、戒煙支援及無煙宣傳品等,以協助業界實施各項無煙措施。近百間食肆及飲食業公司成為「星級無煙食肆」,當中包括飲食集團、快餐店、茶餐廳、健康食品連鎖店、卡拉OK集團、甜品店、小食店及酒吧等,受惠員工人數超過12,700人。

參與的食肆及飲食業公司推行各具特色的無煙措施,當中六間更獲選為「特選星級無煙食肆」,透過多元化的措施包括與戒煙員工簽署戒煙約章、推出員工戒煙獎勵計劃、提供戒煙轉介、於「健康無煙日」向員工派發水果、邀請成功戒煙的管理層分享戒煙心得及於社交平台分享無煙信息等,以凝聚員工、業界及市民大眾的力量,共同營造支持無煙飲食文化的氛圍。其中一間食肆更自發於户外用餐位置全面禁煙,以保障食客及員工免受二手煙及三手煙的影響,獲選為「特選無煙户外食肆」,為業界樹立榜樣。

按此參閱得獎名單
按此觀看「特選星級無煙食肆」短片

「無煙有食神挑戰菜」
委員會聯同香港商業電台於2017年10月23日至12月3日期間合辦「無煙有食神挑戰菜」,邀請公眾分享一道成本約一包捲煙價錢(約港幣六十元)的美食佳餚,鼓勵市民宣傳無煙信息和支持身邊的吸煙人士戒煙。藝人阮小儀及無煙飲食達人楊尚友亦為比賽拍攝短片,示範「無煙好煮意」,鼓勵市民以烹飪減壓,幫助戒煙。可按以下連結觀看短片:
小儀清新好煮意
廚壇魔術師楊尚友

比賽共收到超過60份食譜作品,既有創意又有營養,並吸引逾1,400位市民透過社交平台投票,支持「食煙不如食好餸」。委員會按無煙及戒煙信息、健康食材、創意及賣相選出「無煙有食神挑戰菜」的冠、亞、季軍,並已進行公眾投票抽獎。「無煙有食神挑戰菜」得獎名單如下:

     
冠軍: "無油無煙" 蔬果福袋
參加者: Ashley CHAN

菜式介紹及無煙信息:
這個菜式為一個無肉菜式,在戒煙期間要多攝取蔬果。 除了低熱量、高維生素,還可增加口腔滿足感,減輕煙癮發作。此外,吸煙者要吸收較多維生素C。菜式中石榴、青瓜、士多啤梨都含豐富維生素C。
按此參閲食譜
亞軍: 無煙養生家庭餐
參加者: Rainbow WONG

菜式介紹及無煙信息:
戒煙後要養生就先從食物中調理身體,鮮淮山生津,蟲草花補肺,而黃椒、紅蘿蔔、青瓜有多種維生素及纖維,對腸道有益,再者一份蔬菜加點變化就可以煮出兩款餸菜,加上戒煙成功,絕對能切合現時之綠色生活態度。
按此參閲食譜
季軍: 無煙笑哈哈
參加者: Irene HUI

菜式介紹及無煙信息:
這菜式「無煙笑哈哈」,無是無花果,煙是煙肉,笑哈哈,哈與蝦同音。菜式是提倡無煙生活,大家能健康生活,便笑口常開了。
按此參閲食譜


公眾投票抽獎得獎名單如下:
Tango CHAN, Sandy CHIU, Nicole CHOI
*推廣生意的競賽牌照號碼: 49515

而藝人阮小儀亦與冠軍得主一同到街頭邀請市民試食得獎煮意「無油無煙蔬果福袋」,分享無煙生活的重要性,獲不少巿民讚好。
按此觀看「無煙有食神清新派」短片

頒獎禮
委員會於2018年2月2日舉行「無煙飲食力量」頒獎典禮,以表揚實施傑出無煙措施的「特選星級無煙食肆」及嘉許「無煙有食神挑戰菜」的得獎者。主禮嘉賓包括衞生署控煙辦公室主管李培文醫生、香港吸煙與健康委員會主席鄺祖盛及副主席伍婉婷。





香港大學公共衞生學院社會醫學講座教授暨羅旭龢基金教授(公共衞生學) 林大慶教授於活動中向飲食業界講解戒煙好處及對抗煙癮的貼士。歌手林奕匡、JW(王灝兒)及葉巧琳則透過遊戲,鼓勵市民以美食佳餚發放「無煙飲食力量」,幫助身邊的吸煙人士戒除煙癮。另外,無煙飲食達人楊尚友及成功戒煙的廚師盧沛華分享吸煙對飲食業從業員的影響,鼓勵大家重投無煙健康生活。



更多「無煙飲食力量」計劃詳情,請瀏覽 www.smokefree.hk/catering。
回到最上