Top Menu

Press Release

Smoke Free Family Promotion Campaign reward winners
2008.06.23
To mark this year’s World No Tobacco Day, Hong Kong Council on Smoking and Health (COSH) has organized a “Smoke Free Family Promotion Campaign”, aims to promote the positive benefits of smoke-free family to students as well as to encourage smokers to quit smoking. The finale was held today to present prizes to winners of the Campaign.

Launched in June, the Campaign included a territory-wide “Smoke Free Family” Promotion Programme that aims to mobilize youth to urge for the establishment of a smoke-free living environment and encourage their beloved family members to quit smoking. The Campaign had received encouraging support and there were over 20,000 entries from more than two hundreds participating schools. In addition, over 5,000 children had successfully convinced their family members, relatives or friends pledged to quit smoking.

Today’s prize presentation ceremony was officiated by Dr. P.Y. LAM, JP (Director of Health), Dr Gloria TAM, JP (Deputy Director of Health), Dr. Homer TSO, BBS JP (COSH Chairman), Prof. LAM Tai-hing, JP (COSH Vice-chairman) and local pop star Ms Ivana WONG, Ms Vincy CHAN and Ms Sherman CHUNG. As the highlight of the event, the officiating guests were joined by the audience, including hundreds of students and parents, to pledge their support for a “smoke-free family”, as well as their willingness to join hand in building a healthy environment and to help in disseminating the no-smoking message. Game segments and singing performances were also filled the venue with joy and fun.

Dr. Homer TSO expressed his gratefulness to participants at the ceremony, “The programme revealed that students wanted a smoke-free family, a smoke-free living environment and a smoke-free Hong Kong. Their creations showed that they were fully aware of the hazard of smoking and passive smoking, so didn’t want their family members to smoke or suffer from passive smoking. They also expressed their love and sincerity in encouraging family members to quit smoking. We find the hope of our future smoke-free Hong Kong in their works. We hope that this campaign can motivate more people to support smoke-free Hong Kong and encourage more smokers to quit. Let’s join hand in building a smoke-free Hong Kong.”

Since the launch of the “Smoke-free Family Promotion Campaign”, response from the general public was encouraging. The Council will continue its effort in education and promotion work in order to encourage more people to quit smoking and support the building of a smoke-free Hong Kong.
Back to Top

新聞稿

「無煙家庭 我做得到!」頒獎典禮
2008.06.23
香港吸煙與健康委員會為響應世界衞生組織2008年之「世界不吸煙日」,特別舉辦「無煙家庭 我做得到!」活動,向學生推廣無煙家庭及無煙生活環境的好處,以及鼓勵吸煙人士戒煙。活動在學校、家長及學生踴躍支持下完滿結束,並於今日舉行頒獎典禮。

「無煙家庭 我做得到!」活動於六月推出,活動主要是鼓勵本港小學及初中學生與家人齊心合力共建無煙家庭,特別強調年青人要與家人攜手建立健康無煙環境及生活態度,同時能夠身體力行,以無比愛心鼓勵家人戒煙,共創無煙健康的生活。活動自開展以後,委員會共收到來自二百多間學校超過二萬份參賽作品。其中有超過五千名學生更成功鼓勵他們的父母或親友戒煙。

活動頒獎禮由衞生署署長林秉恩醫生太平紳士、副署長譚麗芬醫生太平紳士、香港吸煙與健康委員會主席左偉國醫生BBS太平紳士、委員會副主席林大慶教授太平紳士、藝人王菀之小姐、泳兒小姐、及鍾舒漫小姐擔任主禮嘉賓。會上主禮嘉賓帶領現場數百位學生及家長齊聲支持「無煙家庭」的信息,攜手建立健康成長環境的意願,身體力行宣揚無煙的信息。藝人嘉賓更與觀眾玩遊戲及唱歌表演,與參加者歡度一個快樂的早上。

香港吸煙與健康委員會主席左偉國醫生在活動上感謝參加者支持無煙家庭活動:「這個活動表現了我們的下一代對無煙家庭,無煙環境,以至無煙香港的訴求及期望。從他們的作品,我們看到他們認識吸煙與二手煙的害處,故此不願意家人吸煙及自己要吸二手煙,同時又表現了他們最純真的愛心去鼓勵家人戒煙。我們從他們的作品中見到希望,我們希望藉這個活動帶動更多人支持無煙香港,鼓勵吸煙的朋友早日戒煙,繼續與我們攜手,共創無煙香港。」

「無煙家庭 我做得到!」活動宣揚無煙家庭的訊息,推出以來,市民反應熱烈,委員會將會繼續推行教育及宣傳工作,鼓勵更多人戒煙,致力推動無煙香港。
回到最上