Top Menu

Tobacco Tax

Tobacco Smuggling

Taxation is one of the most effective measures for reducing tobacco consumption. The tobacco companies oppose tax increases. More and more, they rely on the argument that higher taxes are an incentive for smuggling.
According to the industry, increased cigarette taxes will reduce legal sales, but not total sales (legal and illegal sales combined). They argue that increased taxes will lead to increased smuggling, resulting in less revenue for governments and undermining taxation as an effective health policy to curb tobacco consumption.
 
The tobacco industry argues that increase in tobacco tax will lead to a massive increase in smuggling and reduced government revenues, is it telling the truth?
No. as the World Bank's report concludes, tax increases lower tobacco consumption while raising government revenue, In Hong Kong, the Customs and Excise Department works quite closely with the tobacco industry to tackle the smuggling problem. Tobacco Institute's move to be identified as a collaborator with Customs and Excise in Hong Kong is, in fact, a deception.
There is a lot of evidence on the tobacco industry's deep involvement and complicity with smuggling activities around the world. The industry only used the smuggling issue as an argument against increases in tobacco duty, which will affect on their revenue.
The appropriate response is to crack down on criminal activity rather than freeze or reduce the tobacco tax. Concession on the increase in tobacco tax will instead make cheap tobacco available to smokers from both side of duty-paid cigarette and contraband ones from the black market.
 
Related Links:
Back to Top

煙草走私

增加煙草稅是打擊煙草使用最有效的方法。煙草商宣稱增加煙草稅會令走私問題惡化,根據煙草商所講,增加煙草稅只會減少合法煙草的銷售,而整體煙草銷售量並沒有減少。
煙草商更指出增加煙草稅會令走私問題惡化,繼而減低政府稅收並削弱控煙政策的力量。
 
煙草商聲稱增加煙草稅會令走私大幅增加,並會令政府稅收下跌,是真的嗎?
當然不會。根據世界銀行統計,加稅能令煙草使用下降,並增加政府收入。在香港,海關與煙草業合作打擊走私,而煙草業便藉此標榜自己為海關的合作伙伴。
在世界各地證據顯示,許多走私活動背後都有煙草商的參與。煙草商只以走私為藉口,作為與政府商討控煙政策的籌碼。
要有效打擊走私的方法,就是瓦解犯罪活動。透過凍結或減低煙草稅對打擊走私將會毫無幫助。若果政府在煙草稅層面作出讓步,會直接令煙草使用率上升,損害香港市民健康,並直接及間接地增加煙草商與走私集團的收入。
 
相關網頁:
回到最上