Top Menu

Publicity Project

Smoke-free Run cum Carnival

Smoking is hazardous to health while doing exercise is good for health. Quitting smoking and doing exercise are indeed complementary to each other. Exercise can help resist tobacco craving and ease withdrawal symptoms. A study showed that running helped people quit smoking and reduce tobacco consumption. Kicking the smoking habit can also improve one’s sports performance.

COSH organized “Smoke-free Run cum Carnival” on 13 January 2019 at Hong Kong Science Park which attracted nearly 1,600 runners joined to encourage smokers to kick the habit through running, as well as to motivate the public to build a smoke-free healthy lifestyle. Event was supported by more than 40 organizations and smoking cessation service providers, also the Auxiliary Medical Service provided on-site first aid coverage. COSH invited local cartoon character, B.Duck to design a set of key visuals with smoke-free healthy tips to promote smoke-free messages to the public.

Nearly 1,600 runners joined “Smoke-free Run”. The running race was divided to different categories according to distances (10KM, 3KM and 800M), Individual, Smoke-free Family Team, School Team, Corporate Team and Smoke-free Buddy Team. Smoke-free Buddy Team encouraged smokers to quit smoking through running, support their family and friends to beat the tobacco addiction and live a smoke-free lifestyle.

"Smoke-free Run cum Carnival” was supported by over 40 organizations.

"Smoke-free Run"

The race starting ceremony was officiated by Dr CHUI Tak-yi, Under Secretary for Food and Health, Dr Manny LAM, Senior Medical and Health Officer of Tobacco and Alcohol Control Office, Department of Health, Antonio KWONG, COSH Chairman and Yolanda NG, COSH Vice-chairman. The running race was divided to different categories according to distances (10KM, 3KM and 800M), Individual, Smoke-free Family Team, School Team, Corporate Team and Smoke-free Buddy Team. Participant was encouraged to form a Smoke-free Buddy Team with a smoking family member, to motivate them to stop smoking for a healthy life. Representatives of the organizations and smoking cessation service providers also attended to show their support. Smoke-free athlete, B.Duck also came to support and cheer for the participants to spread smoke-free message.

COSH aimed to urge smokers to replace smoking by a healthy habit like doing exercise through the “Smoke-free Run”. The public were also encouraged to support their family and friends to overcome the tobacco addiction and live a smoke-free lifestyle.

Nearly 1,600 runners joined “Smoke-free Run” to encourage smokers to quit smoking through running, as well as to motivate the public to build a healthy smoke-free lifestyle.

"Smoke-free Carnival"

A “Smoke-free Carnival” was held to raise public awareness on tobacco hazards, smoking cessation and tobacco control through interesting game and exhibition booths. During the event, Prof LAM Tai-hing, Chair Professor of Community Medicine & Sir Robert Kotewall Professor in Public Health, School of Public Health, The University of Hong Kong demonstrated “Zero-time Exercise" to encourage participants to resist smoking cravings by doing exercise anytime and anywhere. Also, Mr CHAN who successfully quitted smoking through running were invited to share cessation tips. He became more energetic in daily life and work after giving up smoking. His performance in running was also improved.

Interesting and informative smoke-free game booths were set up in the “Smoke-free Carnival” which were well-received by the participants.

"Smoke-free Run" Training Workshop

COSH organized training workshops in Tsing Yi Sports Ground and Hammer Hill Road Sports Ground on 7 and 21 December 2019 respectively. 60 participants joined to get prepared for the “Smoke-free Run”, COSH invited Mr WONG Ka-man, distance running coach, to share the basic skills of running and the relationship between exercise and smoking cessation. Quitters were also invited to share their successful experience and quit tips.

Highlighted video of “Smoke-free Run cum Carnival” (Chinese Version Only)



For more information about the “Smoke-free Run cum Carnival”, please visit www.smokefree.hk/run.
Back to Top

「全城無煙跑暨嘉年華」

吸煙危害健康,而做運動則可改善健康。事實上,戒煙及運動是相輔相成,運動有助減低煙癮及舒緩退癮徵狀,研究發現跑步可以幫助戒煙及減少吸煙量,而戒煙後運動表現可以大大提升。

委員會於2019年1月13日假香港科學園舉辦「全城無煙跑暨嘉年華」,吸引近1,600名跑手參與,藉此鼓勵吸煙人士以運動對抗煙癮,並推動大眾建立無煙健康的生活模式。活動獲得逾40間機構及戒煙服務團體支持,醫療輔助隊更即場提供急救服務。委員會亦邀請本地卡通人物B.Duck 合作,為是次賽事設計一系列附有無煙健康生活貼士的有趣插畫,向巿民大眾推廣無煙信息。

「全城無煙跑暨嘉年華」獲得逾40間機構支持,一同推廣無煙信息。

「全城無煙跑」

「全城無煙跑」起跑禮的主禮嘉賓包括食物及衞生局副局長徐德義醫生、衞生署控煙酒辦公室高級醫生林民聰醫生、委員會主席鄺祖盛及副主席伍婉婷。比賽設有10公里、3公里及800米賽事,並設個人、家庭、學校、機構及無煙Buddy等組別,當中無煙Buddy組由參賽者與身邊吸煙的親友一同參與,身體力行鼓勵他們堅持戒煙,重拾健康人生。多位支持機構及戒煙服務團體代表出席支持,無煙健兒B. Duck亦到場為各位跑手打氣,各位跑手均全力以赴,務求創出佳績,跑出無煙健康生活。

委員會希望「全城無煙跑」能作為一個引子,推動更多吸煙人士以運動這個有益身心的習慣代替吸煙,對抗煙癮,身邊的家人朋友亦可為戒煙人士打氣,鼓勵他們堅持到底,重拾健康人生。

「全城無煙跑暨嘉年華」近1,600名無煙健兒跑出健康人生

「全城無煙嘉年華」

比賽當日於賽事場地設有「全城無煙嘉年華」,透過有趣生動的無煙攤位遊戲及資訊攤位等提升參加者對煙草禍害、戒煙及控煙工作的認識。香港大學公共衞生學院社會醫學講座教授暨羅旭龢基金教授(公共衞生學)林大慶教授於活動上示範了「零時間運動」,鼓勵巿民不受時間環境限制以運動對抗煙癮。另外,委員會亦特別邀請了成功透過跑步戒煙的陳先生分享貼士,他表示戒煙後日常生活及工作時更精神,跑步表現亦有所提升。

「全城無煙嘉年華」 設置資訊與趣味並重的無煙遊戲及資訊攤位,現場人頭湧湧,熱鬧非常。

「全城無煙跑」特訓班

委員會於2018年12月7日及21日假青衣運動場及斧山道運動場舉辦「全城無煙跑特訓班」,邀請了長跑教練黃嘉文先生教授跑步的基本技巧與運動對戒煙的幫助,以及成功戒煙者分享的戒煙心得及經驗,吸引60名參賽者參與,為「全城無煙跑」作好準備。

「全城無煙跑暨嘉年華」精華片段



如欲了解活動詳情可瀏覽「全城無煙跑暨嘉年華」網頁www.smokefree.hk/run
回到最上