Top Menu

About COSH

Chairman's Message

Mr. Antonio KWONG, MH Photo

"Join us for a Smoke-free Hong Kong!"

Protecting the public health has topped the priority list of Hong Kong Council on Smoking and Health since its establishment. COSH has been sparing no efforts on raising public awareness on tobacco hazards and encouraging smokers to quit smoking through a series of education and publicity programmes for all walks of life. We also proactively advocate the Government for strengthening the tobacco control policies and collaborate with different sectors of the community to strive for a smoke-free Hong Kong.
 
Since the enactment of the Smoking (Public Health) Ordinance in 1982, the Government, COSH and various sectors of the community has worked diligently together to reduce the use of tobacco through a multi-pronged approach including legislation, taxation, publicity, education, law enforcement and promotion of smoking cessation. The smoking prevalence has decreased gradually to 10.7% in 2012, the lowest on record, as a result of the effective tobacco control policies and great efforts of different sectors.
 
We would like to express our sincere gratitude to the Government, public organizations, academic and education institutions, district and social welfare organizations, media and different stakeholders in the community for their support to the tobacco control works in Hong Kong. COSH urges the Government to implement long-term and comprehensive tobacco control policies and measures, including expanding the statutory no-smoking areas, raising tobacco tax, banning display and all forms of promotion of tobacco products and increasing resources on smoking cessation, education, promotion, enforcement and combatting illicit cigarette trade to further reduce the smoking prevalence.
 
Antonio KWONG, MH
Chairman
Hong Kong Council on Smoking and Health
 
 
 
 
 
Back to Top

主席歡迎辭

鄺祖盛先生 M.H.相片

"Join us for a Smoke-free Hong Kong!"

香港吸煙與健康委員會一直以保障公眾健康為前提,積極透過多元化的控煙活動及計劃,向社會不同階層人士宣揚煙草的禍害,以及鼓勵吸煙人士戒煙,同時積極向政府提供意見及倡議加強現行的控煙措施,與各界一同推動香港成為無煙城市。
 
自《吸煙(公共衞生)條例》於1982年實施以來,政府、委員會及社會各界合作無間,透過立法、徵稅、宣傳、教育、執行法例及推廣戒煙等多管齊下的方式減低煙草的使用。香港吸煙率持續下降至2012年的10.7%,為有記錄以來的新低,可見歷年的控煙措施及各界的努力取得顯著成效。
 
委員會衷心感謝所有支持控煙工作的政府、公共機構、學術及教育組織、地區組織、社福機構、傳播媒體以及社會不同的持分者。我們希望政府制定長遠及全面的控煙政策,包括擴大禁煙範圍、增加煙草稅、禁止陳列煙草產品、加強規管煙草產品及其推廣、增撥資源加強戒煙服務、教育及宣傳推廣、執法及打擊私煙等,以進一步降低香港的吸煙率,攜手共建無煙香港﹗
 
香港吸煙與健康委員會主席
鄺祖盛MH
 
 
 
 
回到最上