Top Menu

Press Release

An open letter to the Hong Kong SAR Government
2010.02.18
An open letter to the Hong Kong SAR Government 
Price measures have been shown around the world to be the single, most effective measure in reducing tobacco use, especially among the young. Tobacco is responsible for 7,000 deaths and community costs of more than five billion dollars annually in Hong Kong. We urge the Government to review its tobacco control strategy and ensure that in particular its legislative and fiscal measures are comprehensive, coherent and rigorously enforced. The protection of young people from addiction to tobacco should be one of our highest public health priorities.

Taxation

  • Hong Kong's tobacco is cheap in relation to GDP per capita and comparison with other jurisdictions.In 2009 the most popular price category retail prices per 1,000 sticks were: Hong Kong €159, Vienna €180, Melbourne €203, Copenhagen €214, Helsinki €220, Frankfurt €235, Paris €265, Singapore €265, New York €300, London €369, Dublin €423. In other words, cigarette price in Hong Kong is currently only 60%, 53% and 43% of that in Singapore, New York and London, respectively.
  • Rises in tobacco duty are recognized by the World Bank and World Health Organization as essential public health measures but raising tax must go hand in hand with other comprehensive tobacco control measures to be effective and worthy of survey.
  • Failure to raise tobacco tax is in breach of the FCTC treaty ratified by China.
  • Young people are most sensitive to price; an increase in duty which raises price by 10% will reduce cigarette consumption by 5% overall, but youth is up to three times more sensitive to price. Cheap tobacco penetrates youth markets very effectively. Taxation should at least match inflation to influence price elasticity and affordability.
  • Effective taxation must be 75%-80% of retail price whereas currently in Hong Kong it is only between 61-66%.
  • There are about 750,000 smokers in Hong Kong.One in two smokers is killed by disease caused by tobacco; each 10% rise in price will prevent at least 18,000 deaths.
  • All duty free sales of tobacco should be abolished since this is a source of black market trading. The allowance of three packets per trip is pointless and leads to additional work for customs officers at the border posts, reflected in the increased seizures last year after the budget increase.
  • Failure to raise tobacco tax is an admission of failure of law enforcement to be able to cope with illicit tobacco and destines more youth to addiction. Additional law enforcement measures can, if necessary, be funded by additional revenue from duty. This would be a public health approach which protects young people from nicotine addiction and ultimately a premature death.
 

Anti-smuggling action

A possible increase in smuggling has been given as a reason for not increasing tobacco excise duty. However, a wide range of failsafe measures is available to combat large scale smuggling:
  • Hologram duty paid stickers should be used to mark all cigarette packets and these tax stickers must be prepaid by the tobacco companies.
 
Mandatory tracking by pack and case marking of any imported cigarettes for which the technology has long been available. Mandatory fines on local tobacco companies for any genuine non duty paid product found in Hong Kong at a rate of 100 times the duty paid retail price of the product, increasing double fold each time a seizure is made.
  • Mandatory minimum fines of $10,000 for possession of illegal non duty paid cigarettes by smokers. Licence all cigarette exporters, manufacturers and distributors and require detailed records of their activities and supply chain tracking and tracing.
  • Licence all retailers who wish to sell cigarettes; they would first be warned, and then lose their licence, if found selling illegal cigarettes plus receive punitive mandatory fines for selling any tobacco product to under-aged youth.
  • Increased anti illicit tobacco operations and manpower are of little use without mandatory penalties, including mandatory punitive fines and prison sentences for selling or importing non duty paid or other illicit tobacco. Courts should have no option other than to jail the culprits. Tobacco, like drink driving kills. Enforcement will have an immediate effect especially on health protection for youth.
  • The European Community has issued major lawsuits against the main world tobacco companies in relation to smuggled contraband tobacco. As a result, in 2004 Philip Morris, followed later by Japan Tobacco International, agreed a settlement with the EU whereby major financial compensation would be paid by the tobacco companies over a period of years to EU and additionally that the tobacco companies would institute a track and trace system on their products. Any genuine article contraband found smuggled into the EU would result in agreed punitive fines.
We ask why a similar mechanism has not been set in place in Hong Kong to protect public health?
 

Smoke-free Hong Kong

Hong Kong needs greater investment in tobacco control to match the demonstrable burden of harm done to the community.
  • We need a ten fold increase in tobacco control officers paid for from increased duty and reduced health care costs, to underpin effective enforcement. Macau has 70 officers for 544,000 people whereas Hong Kong has less than 100 TCO's for 7 million population.
  • There should be a legal onus on bars, restaurants, mahjong parlours and all workplace managers to enforce the tobacco control laws, with penalties similar to those already in place overseas and similarly proposed in Shanghai for failure of enforcement by management, including loss of restaurant and liquor licences. Breaches of the tobacco control legislation should be on a par with other violations of health and safety in catering premises which are the responsibility of the owners and licensees.
  • Hong Kong has 11,000 restaurants and 5,000 liquor licensed premises and this would have an immediate effect on smokers who can now smoke with impunity in any bar, with little chance of being caught, to the detriment of the health of catering staff.
  • Legislate for prohibition of smoking in vehicles for both health and safety reasons, especially the protection of children.
 

Stringent controls on marketing and promotion of tobacco

  • Brand "stretching" or "extension" is a device to promote tobacco brands to young people on non-tobacco products. All brand extension, marketing and sales, must be banned.
  • Cigarettes should not be on display at point of sale, especially in supermarkets. Thailand's legislation has banned open displays as a youth protection measure.
  • Plain packaging of all tobacco products should be introduced to counter the influence of products' presentation designed to attract young people.
  • Hong Kong needs a new set of packet health warnings, as the current ones have been in use since 2006 and many are insufficiently explicit as measures of risk communication. Future designs should be rigorously evaluated.
 

Treatment of tobacco addiction

  • Hong Kong needs a major increase in treatment facilities for nicotine addiction to match the health risks to three quarters of a million smokers.
  • The Hong Kong Government has recently brought the Mayo Clinic expert professional team on smoking cessation to town and intends to step up its cessation programmes. These must be made available and accessible to all sections of the community to ensure their cost-effectiveness.
  • However all cessation programmes and the actions of individual smokers need to be supported by a wide range of measures to make tobacco inaccessible to youth.
 

Signatories to this letter:

Lisa Lau

Chairman, Hong Kong Council on Smoking and Health

Dr Judith Mackay

Director, Asian Consultancy on Tobacco Control

Dr Anthony Hedley

Chair Professor of Community Medicine

Dr Tai Hing Lam
Chair Professor and Director, School of Public Health, University of Hong Kong
Dr Hung Hing Tse

President, Hong Kong Medical Association

Dr Sian Griffiths
Chair Professor and Director, School of Public Health, Chinese University of Hong Kong
Sally Lo

Chairman, Hong Kong Cancer Fund

Dr Ko Wing Man
Chairman, The Hong Kong Anti-Cancer Society
James Middleton

Chairman Anti-tobacco Committee, Clear the Air

Dr Kit Ling Chan
Council Member, Hong Kong Council on Smoking and Health
Dr Siu-man Ng
Centre on Behavioural Science, University of Hong Kong
 
Download:
Open Letter - PDF format
 
Back to Top

新聞稿
給香港特區政府的公開信
2010.02.18
給香港特區政府的公開信  
價格措施是世界公認為單一及最有效的控煙措施,尤其對青少年而言。煙草令香港每年損失7,000條性命和超過50億元。我們要求政府檢討現時的控煙政策,特別在立法及財政措施方面能互相協調,並嚴厲執行。保護青少年免受煙癮所害是我們首要的公共衛生議題。

煙稅

  • 以人均國內生產總值比較,香港的煙草價格比其他地區便宜。2009年,以每1,000枝捲煙計算的價格如下:香港 159、維也納 180、墨爾本 203、哥本哈根 214、赫爾辛基 220、法蘭克福 235、巴黎 265、新加坡 265、紐約 300、倫敦 369、都柏林 423。換言之,香港捲煙的售價分別為新加坡、紐約及倫敦的60%、53%及43%。
  • 世界銀行及世界衛生組織均確定增加煙草稅是有效的公共衛生措施,但必須與其他措施同時執行。
  • 不增加煙稅等於違反中國已確認的控煙框架公約協議。
  • 青少年對價格最為敏感,增加煙稅使煙價增加10%可減少整體使用量5%,而青少年對煙價的敏感度更高達三倍。平價煙能有效滲透青少年市場,所以煙稅應最少追上通貨膨脹才能影響價格彈性及購買力。
  • 有效的煙稅應最少佔零售價的75%至80%,但現時本港煙稅只佔 61%至66%。
  • 香港現時約有75萬名煙民,每兩名煙民中有一人會因為吸煙致死,增加煙稅10%才能防止最少18,000人死亡。
  • 應完全禁止銷售免稅煙,因為這是黑市買賣的來源。現時容許攜帶三包免稅煙過境的措施是沒有意義的,從去年增加煙稅後檢獲私煙個案增加可見這只為海關部門帶來不必要的額外工作。
  • 不增加煙稅等於認同未能透過執法控制走私煙問題,而且引致更多青少年吸煙成癮。如有需要,額外的執法措施可由額外的稅收支付。這樣能有效保護青少年免受尼古丁成癮傷害,及預防早死。
 

打擊走私

走私活動增多是不提高煙草稅的可能後果之一。然而,有很多方案可以打擊大規模的走私活動:
  • 所有煙包應貼上鐳射完稅標貼,這些標貼必須由煙草商預先支付。
 
現有的技術已經可以強制追蹤進口煙草的包裝及盒上標記。若發現香港有任何未完稅煙草產品,可向本地煙草商收取完稅煙草零售價的100倍強制罰款,再有發現罰款應增加一倍。
  • 向持有私煙者推行強制最低罰款港幣一萬元,同時向煙草出口商,生產商及分銷商推行發牌制度及要求活動的詳細報告。
  • 推行煙草零售商發牌制度,若被發現售賣私煙,先警告,後除牌,若賣煙給青少年,則額外實施懲罰性罰款。
  • 如果沒有強制罰則,包括售賣或輸入未完稅煙草或其他不法私煙的罰款及監禁刑罰,增加打擊私煙的行動及人手的效果有限。法庭應將犯案者判監。煙草如同醉駕致命,特別是在保障青少年健康方面,執法會即時見效。
  • 歐洲共同體曾就私煙問題對世界主要的煙草商提出訴訟。2004年,菲利普莫里斯(Philip Morris)及後來的日煙國際集團(Japan Tobacco International) 最終跟歐盟達成協議,煙草商須向歐盟支付巨額賠償及為其產品設立追蹤機制。如發現任何私煙輸入歐盟地區,煙草商須支付罰款。
為何我們見不到香港實施類似措施保障公共衛生?
 

無煙香港

香港須在控煙方面投入更多心力,以化解煙草對社會的危害:
  • 我們需要從提高煙稅的收入增加十倍控煙人手以致能有效地執法,同時減低醫療開支。澳門有544,000人口,70名控煙人員,但香港有7百萬人口,卻只有不足100名控煙辦執法人員。
  • 為了更有效執行控煙法例,所有酒吧、食肆、麻雀館及工作間管理人員應該負上法律責任,罰則可參考上海的情況,包括吊銷食肆牌及酒牌。飲食場所若違反控煙法例,其管理人員應承擔與違反健康及安全等法例的相同責任。
  • 香港有11,000間食肆和5,000間領有酒牌的場所,現時於上述場所內只有少數違例吸煙者被檢控,推行有關法例會有即時效果,並可保障食肆員工的健康。
  • 為了健康和安全,尤其保障兒童,應立法禁止在車內吸煙。
 

煙草產品的推廣及市場策劃之管制

香港須在控煙方面投入更多心力,以化解煙草對社會的危害:
  • 「品牌延伸」是一項透過非煙草產品向青少年推廣煙草品牌的工具,必須全面禁止所有煙草品牌延伸及相關市場策略和銷售:
  • 不可於銷售點,特別是超級市場,展示煙草產品。泰國法例已禁止展示所有煙草產品,作為一種保護青少年免受煙害的措施。
  • 所有煙草產品的包裝須要以簡樸為主以防止青少年被煙草包裝設計所吸引。
  • 香港的煙草包裝健康忠告式樣已由2006年沿用至今,而且很多式樣亦不明確,所以需要一套新設計的健康忠告標籤,並審慎評估。
 

煙草成癮的治療方法

香港須在控煙方面投入更多心力,以化解煙草對社會的危害:
  • 香港需要大量增加治療尼古丁成癮的設施幫助煙民戒煙,減低患病風險。
  • 香港政府最近邀請了梅約診所 (Mayo Clinic)的戒煙專家訪港以加快香港戒煙計劃的推行,政府應該讓社會各界交流專業意見,以達致成本效益。
  • 但是,為了防止青少年接觸煙草產品,需要有全面的控煙措施配合所有戒煙計劃及行動。
 

簽署者:

劉文文女士
香港吸煙與健康委員會主席
麥龍詩迪教授
亞洲反吸煙諮詢所總監
賀達理教授
香港大學社會醫學系講座教授
林大慶教授
香港大學講座教授,公共衛生學院院長
謝鴻興醫生
香港醫學會主席
葛菲雪教授
香港中文大學公共衛生學院基層醫療學院院長
羅莎莉女士
香港癌症基金會主席
高永文醫生
香港防癌會主席
梅道登先生
爭氣行動反吸煙小組主席
陳潔玲醫生
香港吸煙與健康委員會委員會
吳兆文教授
香港大學行為健康教研中心
 
下載:
公開信 - PDF 格式
 
回到最上