Top Menu

News Update

Expansion of Statutory No Smoking Areas to 131 Public Facilities in December
To further protect the public from the harmful effects of secondhand smoke, the Hong Kong Government has announced that the statutory no smoking areas will be expanded to 129 open air and 2 covered public transport facilities with effect from 1st December 2010.

Hong Kong smoking ban measures in public transport interchange has been implemented in phases since 2007. Over the past 4 year, 54 indoor and 48 covered public transport facilities has been designated as no smoking areas.

Spokesman from Tobacco Control Office Department of Health said, infrastructure plans of the 131 non smoking areas of public transport area will be placed at the Land Registry and the Tobacco Control Office for public consultation.

According to “Fixed Penalty (Smoking Offences) Ordinance”, the law enforcement officers have the right to issue fixed penalty notices to anyone who smoke or carry a lighted cigarette, cigar or pipe in designated no smoking areas or public transport for a fine of HKD1,500.

Since September 2010, Tobacco Control Office has issued more than 120 fixed penalty notices for smoking offences in designated no smoking areas.

Source: Tobacco Control Office Department of Health
Back to Top